Book Added Go to checkout. x

Christel Wiinblad

Christel Wiinblad was born in 1980 in Svendborg, Denmark. In Danish, she has published four collections of poetry; 49 Forelskelser (2008), Min lillebror - en morgen i himlen, ihvertfald i det grønne (2008), Det ligner en sorg (2011) and Sommerlys (2013), and three novels; Prolog (2011), Ingen åbner (2012) and De elskende (2014). Her 2008 collection My Little Brother will be published for the first time in English by Valley Press in February 2020, in a translation by Malene Engelund.


My Little Brother

Paperback - Add To Basket

A Poetry Book Society Recommended Translation for Spring 2020.

Click here to read an introduction to the book by translator Malene Engelund, and a sample poem.

My Little Brother paints an unflinching portrait of schizophrenia and the devastating effects it can have on the sufferer and their family. Writing in response to her own brother’s attempted suicide, Wiinblad carefully confronts the brutality of the experience, recounting and deciphering the events leading up to it without ever veering into sensationalism.

The resulting sequence of poems and prose collapses time, structured thought and binary opposites to reveal, with absolute clarity and wonder, the figure of a young man. Written with searing honesty and precision, it is a celebration of the redemptive power of the written word and, at its core, a celebration of a life.

Be part of our story. Join the Valley Press newsletter.